Login New User

Home > Living in Australia > Geography

Australian Geography

Introductory Snapshot

A vast island continent situated south of Indonesia and Papua New Guinea, Australia lies between the Pacific and Indian Oceans. The world's sixth-largest country, Australia measures some 4,000km east to west and 3,200km north to south. Much of the interior of the country is flat, barren and sparsely populated. The bulk of the population lives on the narrow, fertile eastern coastal plain and on the southeastern coast. The country's size means there's a lot of climatic variation, which also means that any time is a good time to be somewhere in Australia.


Nearly a third of Australia is in the tropics and the rest is in the temperate zone. The coldest areas are in the south-eastern corner of the mainland and Tasmania.

Seasons in Australia
Summer December – February
Autumn March – May
Winter June – August
Spring September – November

Time zones

Because of its large size, there are three time zones in Australia. Daylight saving also comes into force in some parts of Australia during the summer period.

Time zones in Australia
Australian eastern standard time (AEST) Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) plus 10 hours
Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Queensland, Tasmania, Victoria
Central standard time (CST) AEST minus 30 mins
South Australia, Northern Territory
Western standard time (WST) AEST minus 2 hours
Western Australia
Australian daylight saving time (ADST) end of October – end of March AEST plus 1 hour
Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria 

Australian States and Territories

Click a state on the map or a link below to get more information on geography and climate in that area.


New Zealand
United Kingdom
US - EST New York
US - CST Chicago
US - MST New Mexico
US - PST Los Angeles